The Damned Tickets

“The Damned” project was born in 1976 from the cult British team “London SS”, where also a future guitarist of “Clash” Mick Jones played and the future bassist of “Generation X” - Tony James. Although among the British punk bands they have done a lot of things first (issued the single and the album first, first visited America, and broke up first for the first time), but it remained undervalued compared to its peers “Sex pistols” and “Clash”.

About The Damned

First Unsuccessful Release

The initial participants of the band were Captain Sensible (bass), Brian James (guitar), Dave Vanian (vocals), and Rat Scabies (drums). After signing the contract with Stiff Records, they hastily recorded a track “New rose”, and after it – their debut album, “Damned damned damned”. It took them only a couple of days to create the disc, so it is not surprising that its sound turned out to be raw.

Further Disappointment

Subsequent British tour with “Pistols”, “Clash”, and American tour in the company of “Flamin 'Groovies” passed fairly quickly and were accompanied by a string of scandals. Shortly before the session of the second album, James decided that the group needed a second guitarist. Sensible and Scabies did not like this idea, but agreed. The drummer of “Pink Floyd” Nick Mason became the producer of “Music for pleasure”. The album brought disappointment, despite the fact that a couple of songs from it hit the charts.

Long-awaited Successful

General drunkenness and drug abuse had an impact on the relationships in the team. As a result, first Scabies slammed the door. Then, Brian followed him and the band actually broke up. However, six months later “The Damned” were resuscitated with Scabies but without James. The recorded album “Machine gun etiquette” is probably the best work of the team, and two songs, “Smash it up” and “I just can not be happy today”, entered the Top 10.

The Damned tour dates

26
JAN
FRI
Fri, 26 Jan, 6:30 pm
Newcastle Upon Tyne
£ 26
More details
27
JAN
SAT
Sat, 27 Jan, 7:00 pm
Dundee
£ 26
More details
28
JAN
SUN
Sun, 28 Jan, 7:00 pm
Glasgow
30
JAN
TUE
Tue, 30 Jan, 7:00 pm
Leeds
£ 26
More details
31
JAN
WED
Wed, 31 Jan, 7:00 pm
Manchester
£ 26
More details
01
FEB
THU
Thu, 1 Feb, 7:00 pm
Birmingham
£ 26
More details
03
FEB
SAT
Sat, 3 Feb, 7:00 pm
Leicester
£ 26
More details
04
FEB
SUN
Sun, 4 Feb, 6:30 pm
Nottingham
06
FEB
TUE
Tue, 6 Feb, 7:00 pm
Folkestone
£ 26
More details
07
FEB
WED
Wed, 7 Feb, 7:00 pm
Southend-On-Sea
£ 26
More details
09
FEB
FRI
Fri, 9 Feb, 7:00 pm
Cardiff
£ 26
More details
10
FEB
SAT
Sat, 10 Feb, 7:00 pm
Bristol
11
FEB
SUN
Sun, 11 Feb, 7:00 pm
Bournemouth
13
FEB
TUE
Tue, 13 Feb, 7:00 pm
Southampton
£ 26
More details
14
FEB
WED
Wed, 14 Feb, 7:00 pm
Bexhill on Sea
£ 26
More details
17
FEB
SAT
Sat, 17 Feb, 7:00 pm
London

Music

Videos

Photos

The Damned news